Beyond ATAR – Collaborators

Beyond ATAR - Collaborators

Working in Collaboration

Beyond ATAR: a proposal for change represents an extended collaboration between many sectors of education which began in May 2018 when the Australian Learning Lecture hosted a forum in conjunction with the Mitchell Institute at the Melbourne office of PwC.

The forum attracted 50 participants including three Vice Chancellors, representatives from TAFEs, schools, Universities Australia, ACER, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority, NSW Department of Education, Grattan Institute, Foundation for Young Australians, The Smith Family, and other community organisations. Dozens of submissions were received.

The forum called on the Australian Learning Lecture to progress the issue. Two working parties were formed to lead and shape a proposal for change. They were made up of:

Curriculum and Assessment Working Group

  • Dr Sandra Milligan, Director and Enterprise Professor, Assessment Research Centre, Melbourne Graduate School of Education, University of Melbourne (Working Group Chair) Chris Wardlaw, Chair, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority* 
  • David de Carvalho, Chief Executive Officer, NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) (Until February 2019)* 
  • Jeremy Ludowyke, Principal, Melbourne High School* 
  • Dr David Howes, former Chief Executive Officer, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority* 
  • Kathe Kirby, Education Consultant*

Pathways Working Group

  • Tom Bentley, Executive Director (Policy and Impact), RMIT University (Working Group Chair) 
  • Professor Peter Dawkins AO, Vice-Chancellor and President, Victoria University* 
  • Professor Linda Kristjanson AO, Vice-Chancellor & President, Swinburne University of Technology* (until 2020)
  • Karen Money, Principal, Melbourne Girls’ College* 
  • Dr Gillian Considine, National Manager, Research and Evaluation, The Smith Family* • Professor Duncan Bentley, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Swinburne University of Technology* (Until 2020)


*Members of both working groups participated in discussions that contributed to the development of this paper. However, being listed as a member of the working group does not constitute or imply endorsement in whole or in part of the views and/or recommendations expressed in the paper.